Todd Owen Awarded the SK Win; Charles Beal with First Mini Stock Win

Todd Owen Awarded the SK Win; Charles Beal with First Mini Stock Win

For Immediate Release from the New London-Waterford Speedbowl

SK Modified® results have changed after a post race technical infraction has been discovered. Updated Sept. 20th, 2022.

WATERFORD – Eric Berndt initially crossed the stripe first in the SK Modifieds®, but afterwards it was determined that a tire infraction had occurred awarding Todd Owen the win. Ray Christian III extended his lead on the Late Models. Evan Bourgeois scored his 3rd career SK Light win this season while Charles Beal scored the Mini Stock win marking a win in his 3rd different division. Christian Herman dominated the X-Cars and Devin Tate won in a photo finish kicking off their Fall Shootout Series runs.


Eric Berndt started third in the 16 car SK Modified® field and quickly jolted by Rob Janovic Jr into the lead. He would get the advantage over the field over the next few restarts holding off attacks from Todd Owen early in the race, and then Anthony Flannery late when Owen got shuffled back a few positions.  Under heavy attack for the remainder of the event from Flannery, and then Owen, Berndt was able to hang on to the lead and cross the stripe first, but it was later determined in post race technical inspection that there was a tire infraction. Todd Owen was awarded his 6th win of the season.


Charles Bailey III got off to an early lead in the Late Models, but while he was setting the pace Ray Christian III was methodically working to the front from his 6th place starting position. From the halfway point to the end, it was a race for second as Christian had the field covered.

Cory DiMatteo rebounded from a spin mid race to bounce back and land on podium, breaking something in the car as he crossed the stripe.


The SK Lights put on a show this week beginning on lap 1 when Ethan the Durocher crossed over Jordan Churchill into the lead. Geoff Nooney would make a bid for the lead but wound up in the grass, giving Evan Bourgeois a shot at the lead from his mid pack starting position. The two dueled for the top spot side by side for the second half of the race, until Bourgeois was able to finally clear Durocher with 5 to go giving him his third win of the season.


Charles Beal spent much of the year driving the number 30 Mini Stock along side his daughter Hailey in the number 22. Hailey was unable to compete, so Charles took the reigns of her car and rocketed out to an early lead. Charles Canfield took over the lead briefly getting the jump on a restart and held on to it for about 6 laps, until Beal was able to make the move and pass back into the lead to win his first ever Mini Stock race.


Devin Tate rocketed to a huge lead in the Super X-Cars, but over the course of the caution free event runner up Bill Rheaume started to reel Tate back in giving the fans another Speedbowl photo finish by a margin of 0.001 seconds.

In the X-Cars, Christian Herman led every lap and held off Wednesday night champion Pete Zaikarite on a restart to take home the checkers.



SK Modifieds (35 Laps): 1. 81-Todd Owen[5]; 2. 25-Anthony Flannery[4]; 3. 11FL-Stephan Kopcik[7]; 4. 51-Rob Janovic Jr[1]; 5. 35-Andrew Molleur[2]; 6. 9-Paul Buzel[8]; 7. 10-Joseph Ternullo[11]; 8. 94-Bill Anderson[6]; 9. 62-Cody Rose[10]; 10. 72-Adam Gada[15]; 11. 66-Wendell Dailey[12]; 12. 20-Dominic Capuano Jr[14]; 13. 4-Jeff Malave[9]; 14. 49-John Bercham[13]; 15. (DNS) 7-Jonathan Puleo; 16. (DQ) 11CT-Eric Berndt[3]

Late Models (30 Laps): 1. 93CT-Ray Christian III[6]; 2. 94CT-Charles Bailey III[1]; 3. 68-Cory DiMatteo[7]; 4. 37-Jordan Hadley[3]; 5. 2-Derryck Anderson Jr[2]; 6. 66MA-Brett Leblanc[11]; 7. 67-John C Silva III[10]; 8. 50RI-Michael Benevides[8]; 9. 35-Andrew Molleur[5]; 10. 9-Keith Scalia[12]; 11. 32-Jason Williams[9]; 12. 1MA-Andrew Gillis[13]; 13. 17-Jason Palmer[4]

SK Lights (25 Laps): 1. 78-Evan Bourgeois[7]; 2. 21-Sami Anderson[13]; 3. 51-John O’Sullivan III[9]; 4. 22-Isaiah Newcomb[5]; 5. 16CT-Ethan Durocher[2]; 6. 07-Tom Abele Jr[11]; 7. X6-Geoff Nooney[4]; 8. 16-Nickolas Hovey[6]; 9. 51CT-Matt Brewer[8]; 10. 47-Zack Sangermano[12]; 11. 96-Blair Culhane[10]; 12. 42-Stephen Kelogiannis[3]; 13. 5-Jordan Churchill[1]

Mini Stocks (25 Laps): 1. 22-Charles Beal[2]; 2. 31-Tommy Silva[5]; 3. 49-Jesse Oloski[1]; 4. 30-Jaysin Beal[9]; 5. 7-Dave Trudeau[7]; 6. 2CT-Sam Mesick[8]; 7. 25-Charles Canfield[4]; 8. 6-Nicholas Pappacoda[6]; 9. 22CT-Tim Baker[10]; 10. 81-Stacey Zentek[12]; 11. 01CT-Chuck McDonald[14]; 12. 15-David Dorr[11]; 13. 9-Rick LaFlesh[3]; 14. 28-Erica Canfield[13]

Super X-Cars (25 Laps): 1. 14-Devin Tate[1]; 2. 43-William Rheaume[2]; 3. 24-Sean Skinner[3]; 4. 88-Ben Pollard[6]; 5. 87-Ray Reed[4]; 6. 41-Toby Leonard[5]; 7. 82-John Nash[7]; 8. 12-David Ciastko[11]; 9. 10-Glen Marion Jr[8]; 10. 30-Pipper Beal[9]; 11. 2-George DeSomma Jr[10]

X-Cars (25 Laps): 1. 9-Christian Herman[1]; 2. 07-Pete Zaikarite Jr[3]; 3. 27-Corey Caddick[4]; 4. 01-Chuck McDonald[6]; 5. 02-Ryan Magliano[2]; 6. 7X-Wade Robbins[7]; 7. 93-RIch Nye[5]; 8. 42-Chris Palamar[10]; 9. 26-Steven Talaba[9]; 10. 11-Tim Burgess[8]; 11. 01CT-Keith McDonald[11]; 12. 21-Rick Mollo[12]

Image by TK Race Photo

Share this post