More First Time Winners, Owen Doubles Up, and Abele Makes it a Hat Trick

More First Time Winners, Owen Doubles Up, and Abele Makes it a Hat Trick

               Clear blue skies greeted race fans to an exciting night of racing that produced more first-time winners, and the classic side by side racing everyone has come to expect at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.  Todd Owen worked hard to make it two in a row in the SK Modifieds®, Andrew Molleur wins his 12th race at the track, but his first Late Model competition, while Bill Sylvia earned his first career win in the Mini Stocks. Tom Abele Jr. took his third SK Light win in four races, while Tyler Chapman scored his first Truck win of the year. The Compact Enduros had their first event of 2022, and it was SK Light regular Steven Chapman taking home the win.

               SK Modified® rookie and SK Light graduate RJ Marcotte would get the jump off the line leading his first laps in the division and prove to be a force to be reckoned with as the race progressed.  As cars sorted themselves out on green flag runs, the high line was preferred by drivers.  Marcotte would slip into third for the time being while Anthony Flannery took over the top spot on a restart.  2020 Champion Tim Jordan would also share the spotlight leading the middle portion of the race, all while the defending champion Todd Owen methodically worked his way from a mid-pack starting position. Marcotte got a second wind with less than halfway to go but Owen was soon to follow. A restart with 9 to go put Owen in position to power past Marcotte and take his second win in a row.

               It’s hard to think of Modified driver Andrew Molleur as a rookie, but in the Late Models that’s just what he is.  Molleur set fast time in qualifying which would give him a third place starting position.  Franklin’s Ryan Morgan was the first to maneuver traffic and pull his car into the top spot, with a fast Molleur on his tail.  The two ran nose to tail for a majority of the race, when Molleur finally made a bottom shot move on lap 17.  Just as he did this, the caution would fly for a spinning Jason Williams.  This time on the outside, Molleur overcame a three wide attempt from Ray Christian III to complete the pass by Morgan and win.  This would mark the fifth different division he’s won in during his young career.

               It was a Beal front row in the Mini Stocks, with father/daughter duo Charles and Hailey Beal taking the green flag. The two paced the field with Hailey leading the way for 10 laps until her car started to fall off the pace, and left Kevin Moore to lead the charge up front.  However, a loose-is-fast Bill Sylvia was in hot pursuit and once he got by Moore on lap 14 he remained in his own zip code to win his first ever race after trying since 2016, under his fathers former number and colors.

               Tom Abele Jr. saw his third trophy in four races during the 2022 SK Light season.  Former Street Stock competitor Brandon Plemons started on the pole and led his first laps in the division until Abele would pass him on lap 5.  Other former Street Stock competitor Nickolas Hovey would catch Plemons and Mini Stock graduate Evan Bourgeois to make the pass on both, settling into second until three to go when John O’Sullivan would complete the pass.  The race was slowed by one caution, but Abele would go on to dominate to the finish.

               For the second week in a row, Emma Monahan looked like she had the Truck to beat once again winning her qualifying race and leading the first 12 of 25 laps.  Her and Tyler Chapman took off from the rest of the field, with Chapman making numerous attacks for position.  At a halfway restart for a spin involving Mercedes Caron and Shawn Passaro, Chapman had gotten the jump and the tides had turned.  Another caution for a minor 3 car incident gave Monahan another chance to capitalize on a restart, but to no avail.  Chapman would lead the final 9 laps to win but remained under heavy pressure from Monahan.

               SK Light regular Steven Chapman won the 50 lap Compact Enduros.

               We’re back in action next Saturday June 11th for the first Fast 3 series race of the season for SK Modifieds®, where they will headline a 60-lap main event.  The Late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks, SK Lights, and INEX Legend Cars are also on the card.

               Keep up with us online at, on Facebook as The New London-Waterford Speedbowl, or on Twitter @SpeedbowlCT

               Results (Top 10)

35 Lap SK Modifieds®: Todd Owen, RJ Marcotte, Anthony Flannery, Tim Jordan, Andrew Molleur, Mike Christopher Jr., Rob Janovic Jr., Eric Berndt, Dana DiMatteo, Paul Buzel

30 Lap Late Models: Andrew Molleur, Ryan Morgan, Ray Christian III, Jordan Hadley, Charles Bailey III, Isaiah Newcomb, Paul Newcomb, Keith Scalia, Doug Curry, Jason Williams

25 Lap Mini Stocks: Bill Sylvia, Kevin Moore, Chris Garside, Charles Canfield, Sam Mesick, Charles Beal, Jesse Oloski, Wayne Taylor, Erica Canfield, Ray Herman

25 Lap SK Lights: Tom Abele Jr., John O’Sullivan III, Nickolas Hovey, Evan Bourgeois, Jake Hines, Zack Sangermano, Brandon Plemons, Christopher Hirt, Isaiah Newcomb, Matt Brewer

25 Lap Trucks: Tyler Chapman, Emma Monahan, Bert Ouellette, Bill Porter, Andrew Morin, Ed Ryan Jr., Chris Taylor, Brian Norman, Randy Burr, Andy Pellegrini

50 Lap Compact Enduro (Top 3): Steven Chapman, Larry Darling, Zack Karns

(Photos by TK Race Photo)

Share this post