Williams Pockets First Career SK Modified Win

Williams Pockets First Career SK Modified Win

WATERFORD – Ronnie Williams used some late race dramatics to score his first career SK Modified feature victory Saturday to highlight the racing card at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

Also on the night, Tony Membrino Jr. won the SK Light Modified feature; Keith Rocco won the Late Model feature; Al Stone III won the Limited Sportsman feature and Jacob Perry won the Mini Stock feature.

Williams, of Tolland, was making a rare appearance at the Speedbowl and the most it in winning the 35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified feature. 

Ted Christopher of Plainville was second and Matt Galko of Meriden third.

Justin Gaydosh took the field to green from the pole with Christopher moving to second quickly.

With 30 laps left Christopher went to the outside of Gaydosh and a lap later he was able to complete the move, taking the lead rolling off of turn two, with Matt Galko following him to second.

The first caution of the event flew with 26 laps left and led to a lengthy cleanup for fluid on the track.

Christopher was able to hold off Galko on the ensuing restart, but the caution flew again with 18 laps left for the spinning car of Bo Gunning deep in the field.

On the ensuing restart Christopher was able to leave his pursuers behind, with Diego Monahan grabbing second briefly from Galko.

Galko went back to second with 13 laps left as Christopher extended his lead. Ronnie Williams was able to get by Galko for second before the caution flew again with six laps remaining.

Williams stayed in close pursuit with Christopher following the restart with six laps to go, but the rhythm was broken again with a caution with three laps left.

On the final restart, Williams kept Christopher in his sights and on the final lap he made a diving move into turn three and made the pass for the lead out of turn four coming to the checkered flag.

Rocco got his fourth consecutive victory in the 30-lap Late Model feature. It was the seventh victory overall in the division for the Wallingford driver.

Ray Christian III of Uncasville was second and Jeff Smith of Old Lyme third.

Christian held the top spot at the start but Rocco made easy work early of getting to second and with 14 laps left he was all over Christian’s bumper.

With 10 laps remaining Rocco got to the outside of Christian. A lap later Rocco was able to finish the pass of Christian for the lead off of turn four and lead the rest of the way.

Membrino, of Berlin, got his second consecutive victory and sixth overall this year in the 25-lap SK Light Modified feature.

Corey Barry of Plainfield was second and Cory DiMatteo of Farmington third.

Membrino made quick work to getting to third place early in the event before the first caution flew with 21 laps left.

On the ensuing restart Membrino was able to make a move to go by Chris Gombos for second John O’Sullivan III for the lead.

From there Membrino went unchallenged to victory.

Stone, of Durham, got his fifth victory of the season in the 25-lap Limited Sportsman feature.

Chris Meyer of Norwich was second and Ed Gertsch Jr. of East Haven third.

Stone made quick and easy work of the competition on the night. He went by Jason Chicolas for the lead two laps into the event and never trailed again.

The 14-year old rookie Perry, of Pawcatuck, got his second consecutive victory and third win overall in the 25-lap Mini Stock feature.

Wayne Burroughs Jr. of Oakdale was second and Dave Trudeau of Manfield third.

Trudeau held the lead at the start with Perry moving to second early.

The first caution came out with 17 laps remaining, with Perry already challenged Trudeau for the top spot.

After the ensuing restart Perry continued to challenge Trudeau at the front. With 12 laps remaining Perry found the way under Trudeau and took over the top spot out of turn two.

From there Perry continued to widen his lead out front as Trudeau was left to battle Burroughs for second place.


35-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modified: 1. Ronnie Williams, Tolland; 2. Ted Christopher, Plainville; 3. Matt Galko, Meriden; 4. Tom Abele Jr., Norwich; 5. Diego Monahan, Quaker Hill; 6. Joey Gada Salem; 7. Keith Rocco, Wallingford; 8. Tyler Chadwick, Ledyard; 9. Dennis Perry, Pawcatuck; 10. Todd Owen, Somers.


30-lap Late Model: 1. Keith Rocco, Wallingford; 2. Ray Christian III, Uncasville; 3. Jeff Smith, Old Lyme; 4. Anthony Flannery, East Hampton; 5. Jason Palmer, Berlin; 6. Ryan Morgan, Mystic; 7. Matthew Carlson, Griswold; 8. Vin Esposito, Waterbury; 9. Ernie LaRose, Plainfield; 10. Glen Thomas Jr., West Bridgewater, Mass.


25-lap SK Light Modified: 1. Tony Membrino Jr., Berlin; 2. Cory Barry, Plainfield; 3. Cory DiMatteo, Farmington; 4. Brett Gonyaw, Vernon; 5. John O’Sullivan III, Salem; 6. Cal Therrien, Vernon; 7. Chris Gombos, Naugatuck; 8. Joe Graf Jr., Mahwah, N.J.; 9. Bill McNeil, Old Lyme; 10. Paul French, Andover.


25-lap Limited Sportsman: 1. Al Stone III, Durham; 2. Chris Meyer, Norwich; 3. Ed Gerstsch Jr., East Haven; 4. Monte Gibbs, Killingworth; 5. Ryan Waterman, Danielson; 6. Jason Chicolas, Sutton, Mass.; 7. Charles Beal, Ledyard; 8. Jack Aqualina, Oakdale; 9. Cliff Saunders, Stafford; 10. Adrien Paradis III, Plainville.


25-lap Mini Stock: 1. Jacob Perry, Pawcatuck; 2. Wayne Burroughs Jr., Oakdale; 3. Dave Trudeau, Mansfield; 4. Jordan Hadley, Waterford; 5. Charles Canfield, East Haven; 6. Mark Panaroni, Ivoryton; 7. Pete Zaikarite, Niantic; 8. Sean Caron, East Hampton; 9. Ken Cassidy Jr., Lisbon; 10. Ian Brew, Wood River Junction, R.I.


25-lap NEMA Lite: 1. Anthony Payn.; 2. Randy Cabral; 3. Kyle Hamilton; 4. Paul Scally; 5. Jim Chambers; 6. PJ Stergois; 7. Dan Cugini; 8. Joey Cipriano; 9. Ryan Bigelow; 10. Ben Mikitarian,

Share this post