Berndt Reigns Supreme; Last Lap Passes Steal the Show

Berndt Reigns Supreme; Last Lap Passes Steal the Show

WATERFORD – After making contact with the wall the week prior, Eric Berndt kicked off the 35 lap SK Modified® feature event looking like he was shot from a cannon. He would get off to a large lead while Todd Owen and Anthony Flannery moved their way up through the field in Berndt’s tire tracks. A caution shortly into the event gave fans a spirited battle that showed short run speed for Flannery, but as the laps clicked on Berndt would once again pull away. In a race contested without much conflict, lapped traffic would play a part in bunching up the field again giving Flannery another chance to strike, however a brief battle with Owen would allow Berndt to run for cover. Berndt went on to win his third race of the season, closing the point gap with Todd Owen to only 11 points with only three events left.

Jason Palmer’s quest for his fourth Late Model title has gotten a bit easier after this past 30-Lap event. Corey Fanning jumped out to the early lead but Palmer made quick work of the outside groove, taking over the lead on lap 3 and never looking back. Derryck Anderson Jr was next to give Fanning a battle, taking over the second spot as the three drivers ran away from the pack. As the laps clicked on, Andrew Molleur diced his way through the field from his seventh place starting position using both grooves in the process, with Derek Ramstrom in tow. With the caution flying on lap 20, Palmer used the outside groove on restarts to maintain his lead, but a determined Molleur wouldn’t ease up, constantly nipping at Palmer’s coattails. In the end Palmer would score career win number 99, extending his already large point lead.

Since taking over the reigns of the Norman owned number 12, Street Stock all time win leader Al Stone III has been nearly unbeatable. The same can be said this week, as defending champion Shawn Gaedeke shot out to an early lead with Jaysin Beal in his tracks. Stone would find himself in second place just 5 laps in, putting the pressure on Gaedeke. Tony Macrino would insert himself in the battle, clearing Stone swiftly and start chipping away at Gaedeke’s rear bumper. The top 2 would make contact giving Macrino the lead for the majority of a lap, until Stone blasted through the open door. The race would run to the checkers without incident, increasing Stone’s point lead to 13.

Sami Anderson’s bad luck streak would come to an end in dramatic fashion during the 25 lap SK Light feature. She would get the jump on the start and run for cover, leaving the field in her dust. Outside polesitter Isaiah Newcomb would battle back eating into Anderson’s lead as the laps clicked down. With three to go, Newcomb dove underneath Anderson and ended up leap-frogging her left front tire, taking the lead away for just one lap. Anderson would regain the lead with Newcomb leveraging one final attack on the last lap resulting in a photo finish, with Anderson ahead by 0.025 seconds.

Brad Strickland and Tony Naglieri led the trucks to the green, with Strickland holding the lead on lap 1. Two-time champion Ken Cassidy Jr made quick work of Strickland, getting out front fast and running away from the field with point leader Brody Monahan right behind him. The race was contested green to checker and it wasn’t until the last lap in the final turn where Monahan threw the final haymaker to beat Cassidy to the line.

Dave Helliwell won the 50 lap Sundial Cocktails 350 SMAC season finale, also winning the championship.

On the next episode of Speedbowl Saturday Nights, Nostalgia Night presented by GRE6! The New England Auto Racers join the SK Modifieds®, Street Stocks, Trucks, Mini Stocks, and INEX Legend Cars. Then on Sunday, Back to School SMASH featuring Monster Trucks, Enduros, and more! Keep up with the us at, The New London-Waterford Speedbowl on Facebook, or @SpeedbowlCT on Twitter and Instagram.

Unofficial Results

SK Modifieds (35 Laps): 1. 11CT-Eric Berndt[2]; 2. 25-Anthony Flannery[5]; 3. 81-Todd Owen[3]; 4. 35-Andrew Molleur[8]; 5. 2-Troy Talman[4]; 6. 72-Adam Gada[7]; 7. 09FL-Kyle James[1]; 8. 51-Rob Janovic Jr[10]; 9. 81X-Joshua Zentek[11]; 10. 22RI-Carl Kivisto[13]; 11. 49-John Bercham[12]; 12. 84-RJ Marcotte[6]; 13. 0-Joe Gada[9]; 14. (DNS) 7-Jonathan Puleo

Late Models (30 Laps): 1. 17-Jason Palmer[4]; 2. 35-Andrew Molleur[8]; 3. 68-Derek Ramstrom[7]; 4. 2-Derryck Anderson Jr[3]; 5. 1-Corey Fanning[2]; 6. 31-Brody Monahan[5]; 7. 67-John C Silva III[11]; 8. 81-Tyler Chapman[6]; 9. 94CT-Charles Bailey III[9]; 10. 78-Emma Monahan[1]; 11. 73CT-Jared Materas[10]; 12. 50RI-Michael Benevides[13]; 13. 32-Jason Williams[12]

Street Stocks (25 Laps): 1. 12-Al Stone III[6]; 2. 13-Tony Macrino[3]; 3. 30-Jaysin Beal[4]; 4. 9-Shawn Gaedeke[2]; 5. 67-Aaron Plemons[5]; 6. 74-Joseph Arena[7]; 7. 80-Norm Root III[1]; 8. 83-Ed Gertsch Jr[8]; 9. 56-Ike Chima[10]; 10. 21-Tom Musante[9]

SK Lights (25 Laps): 1. 21-Sami Anderson[1]; 2. 22-Isaiah Newcomb[2]; 3. 51-John O’Sullivan III[4]; 4. 47-Zachery Sangermano[7]; 5. 16-Nickolas Hovey[3]; 6. 27-Corey Caddick[6]; 7. 78-Evan Bourgeois[5]; 8. 36RI-Michael Cooper[8]; 9. 12-Dennis Krupski[9]; 10. 14-Kali Trapp[11]; 11. 52-Anthony Forino[12]; 12. 09-Jeff Heath[10]

Trucks (25 Laps): 1. 31-Brody Monahan[4]; 2. 11-Ken Cassidy Jr[3]; 3. 12-Ed Ryan Jr[5]; 4. 19CT-Kyle Gero[12]; 5. 84JR-Brad Strickland[1]; 6. 30-Charles Beal[6]; 7. 33-Jake Coutu[7]; 8. 52-Mercedes Caron[9]; 9. 94-Anthony Naglieri[2]; 10. 90-Allen Coates Jr[8]; 11. 25-David Venice[11]; 12. 52CT-Sean Caron[10]

350 SMAC (50 Laps): Dave Helliwell, Matt Caprara, Ben Tinker, Mike Keddy, Scott Watts,Sr, Matt Seavey, Bobby Timmons III, John Leonard, Kenny White, Keith Morrill, George Helliwell, Nette Humphrey, Jim Barker, Scott Watts,Jr, Paul Buzel, Tommy Tombarello, Brad Babb, Kevin Marryfield, Stephen Duphily

Share this post