Skinner a winner in Super X-Cars

Skinner a winner in Super X-Cars

WATERFORD — After suffering transmission problems in last week’s Super X-Car feature and finishing 18th, Sean Skinner planned on taking a week off.  Not only did he change his mind, he changed the momentum of his entire 2021 season.  Skinner pounced into the lead after a lap 2 restart and dictated the race the rest of the way for his first-ever Speedbowl victory in the 25-lap Super X-Car feature.  “We really didn’t plan on racing today, but we brought it down anyway,” Skinner said. “It feels so good right now.”  Skinner’s rise from the dungeon to the penthouse was one of the highlights of Wednesday’s Wild and Wacky race program.

Milania Shilosky captured the 20-lap Bandolero feature by nearly 5 seconds over Joel Newcomb while Devin Deshaies went from fourth to first on the opening lap to control the 20-lap Legends feature.

The X-Car race scheduled for Wednesday was rained out and will be made up on July 14.

Skinner started the Super X-car race in fourth place, but quickly moved to the front after an opening lap skirmish that involved pole-sitter Bud Keuhne and Marc Shaefer. That gave Skinner the opportunity he needed to thunder into the lead.   Will Rheaume moved into second place midway through the race, but dropped back to third when Dominic Abbatiello, who started in 10th position, blistered into second place with six laps remaining. Abbatiello ran out of laps, however, before he could make a serious run at Skinner.  Skinner dedicated the win to his dad, who was a Speedbowl competitor in the ‘90s.  Before Wednesday’s success story, Skinner grabbed two fifth-place finishes during the season, but was shut out of the podium. He changed the script Wednesday and had the dominant car.

Shilosky also had the dominant car in the Bandolero race, taking over the top spot on the first lap after Rich Helger badly destroyed his car.  That was the only break Shilosky needed. On the restart, Shilosky surged in front and built a gigantic lead on her way to her second consecutive win.  Joel Newcomb was also involved in the opening lap dust-up and had to go to the rear. By the time he bobbed and weaved his way to second, Shilosky built a sturdy lead.  A week ago, Shilosky nipped Newcomb by about the length of a teardrop to post the win. It was much more one-sided a week later.  “Last week it was really close, but tonight I had a lot more confidence,” Shilosky said.   

Deshaies had plenty of confidence in the Legends race. He normally waits until the closing laps of a feature to make a move to the front. When room opened up on the outside lane heading into Turn 3 on the first lap, Deshaies couldn’t resist. He barnstormed into the lead.  Both Jacob Burns and Zachary Martinez made runs at Deshaies, but Deshaies had built a plush lead by the third lap.  It was the third Legends win of the season for Deshaies who started the night sixth in the point standings behind leader Jacob Burns.

Racing resumes Saturday at the Speedway with the second Fast Five Race of the season, a 75-lap SK Modified feature with $4,000 to the winner and at least $600 to start. The race will honor two Connecticut legends, Eddie Flemke Sr. and Eddie Flemke Jr.  The late Models, Street Stocks, Mini Stocks and Open Street Stocks also will be part of the festivities, which get under way at 5 p.m.


25-lap Super X-Cars: 1. Sean Skinner, Oakdale; 2. Dominic Abbatiello, North Branford; 3. Bill Rheaume, Uncasville; 4. Dave Yardley, Kensington; 5. Ed Ryan Jr., Preston; 6. Bill Porter, Canterbury; 7. Matt Menders, Niantic; 9. Jeremy Washburn, Willimantic; 10. Keith Brown, Griswold.

20-lap Legends: 1. Devin Deshaies, Oakland RI; 2. Jacob Burns, Bristol RI; 3. Zachary Martinez, Kingstown RI; 4. Isaiah Newcomb, Plymouth, Mass.; 5. Brad Vanhouton, Wading River NY; 6. Paul Newcomb, Plymouth, Mass.; 7. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 8. Nick Morabito, Miller Place NY; 9. Joel Newcomb, Plymouth, Mass.; 10. Ty LeClerc, Tauton, Mass

20-lap Bandoleros: 1. Milania Shilosky, Colchester, CT; 2. Joel Newcomb, Plymouth, Mass.; 3. Allyha Desomma, Richmond, RI; 4. Brad Strickland, Uncasville; 5. Trenton Starkweather, Chaplin; 6. Michael Lefort, West Warwick, RI; 7. Ben Morabito, Miller Place, NY; 8. Aiden Sullivan, East Hampton; 9. Richard Helger Jr. Tiverton, RI; 10. Reid Helpin, Wading River, NY


Share this post