Shafer, Lee overcome adversity to post Wild and Wacky victories – Emma Monahan grabs first-ever Bandolero win-Bennett holds off Blaskey to win Legends feature

Shafer, Lee overcome adversity to post Wild and Wacky victories – Emma Monahan grabs first-ever Bandolero win-Bennett holds off Blaskey to win Legends feature

WATERFORD — Usually the only people working at 1 a.m. are late-night talk show hosts.

Marc Shafer and his team were busy Tuesday night, however, to try to get their Super-X Car ready for a 25-lap feature on Wednesday.

“We had to put in a new rear-end and a new transmission,” Shafer said. “We were up until 1 a.m. getting it done.”

The late-night work detail was worth it. Shafer took the lead on lap 13 from Jeremy Washburn and dominated the rest of the way to win his second feature of the season, highlighting the action during Wild and Wacky Wednesday at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

Christopher Lee, meanwhile, who has had a rough start to his 2018 season, was able to take the lead early and cruise to his win in the 25-lap X-Car feature.

In other action, Emma Monahan led all 20 laps for her first Bandolero win and Peter Bennett survived a frantic finish from Mike Blaskey to post his second 25-lap Wednesday Legend win this season.

Shafer was forced to work until the wee hours because his car lost a drive shaft last week, resulting in a last-place finish. On Wednesday, his car showed no ill side effects from the turmoil of the week before.

“I had a lot of help,” Shafer said. “Guys worked their tails off to get the car ready”

Dave Yardley, who finished second, said he gave it everything he and his car had, but he couldn’t catch Shafer.

“He had a good car,” Yardley said. “But if there was a late caution, it could have been a different story.”

DennyLee Hoffman finished third for the second straight week.

Lee started ninth in the X-Car feature, but was challenging for the lead just five laps into the race. He blew past Gregg Sajkowicz to get the lead and no one could stay close to him.

“I knew our luck had to turn around sooner or later,” Lee said. “Even though we’ve been getting decent finishes, luck hasn’t been on our side.”

Corey Caddick took second while Eddie Loomis blasted by TJ Racicot with two laps to go to finish third. Loomis still leads by two points over Caddick in the X-Car standings.

Bennett took over the lead from Colin Haley on the eighth lap of the Legends feature and ripped open a sturdy lead. Blaskey, however, who had to go to the rear of the field after a collision with Anthony Bello, made a late rush over the closing laps and almost caught Bennett coming out of Turn 4 on the final lap. Bennett, however, was able to hang on.

“We made a big adjustment before the race, and it was almost too big,” Bennett said.” Our car started to get loose. I thought it was Joey Ternullo behind me, but then I saw it was Blaskey. I knew I had to battle.”

Blaskey finished second and leads by four points over Bennett in the standings.

Emma Monahan started on the pole and led for the first 15 laps of the 20-lap Bandolero feature. When the caution came out with five laps to go, however, Monahan had to prove herself on a double-file restart against Ethan Simmons.

She responded, In fact, her car was just as good after the caution period as it was before the flag came out.

She pulled away from Tyler Alkas and Brody Monahan to get her first career win.

“It was crazy,” Emma said. “I don’t know what to say. This is awesome.”

Racing resumes Saturday at the Speedbowl with a 150-lap American Canadian Tour feature. The SK Modifieds, SK Lite Modifieds, Mini Stocks and Sportsmen also will be in action. 

20-lap Bandoleros: 1. Emma Monahan, Quaker Hill; 2. Tyler Alkas, Berlin; 3. Nicholas Hovey, Chaplin; 4. Ethan Simmons, Pawcatuck; 5. Maddie Harkin, Portsmouth, R.I.; 6. Ari Jencik, Canton; 7. PJ Evans, Uncasville; 8. Anthony Bevilacqua, Newington; 9. Madelyn Hovey, Chaplain; 10. Sawyer Reiss, Guilford.

25-lap X-Car: 1. Christopher Lee, Oakdale; 2. Corey Caddick, Richmond, R.I.; 3. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield; 4. TJ Racicot, Quaker Hill; 5. Bill Rheaume, Uncasville; 6. Will Rheaume, North Franklin; 7. CP Burdick, Deep River; 8. Steven Olsen, Essex; 9. Chuck McDonald, Groton; 10. Onie Pierce, Preston.

25-lap Super X-Car: 1. Marc Shafer, Groton; 2. Dave Yardley, Kensington; 3. DennyLee Hoffman, Westbrook; 4. Don Berge, Uncasville; 5. Peter Martin, Plainfield; 6. Bud Kuehne, Clinton; 7. Keith Brown, Griswold; 8. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic; 9. Jeremy Washburn, N/A; 10. Aaron Plemons, Uncasville.

25-lap Legends: 1. Peter Bennett, Cromwell; 2. Mike Blaskey, Bethany; 3. Joey Ternullo, Middletown; 4. Colin Haley, Ashford; 5. Dennis Pantani, Branford; 6. John O’Sullivan, Salem; 7. Mason Levesque, Dighton, Mass.; 8. Scott Limkemann, Lebanon; 9. Devin Jencik, Canton; 10. Jessica O’Leary, Warwick, R.I.

Press release from the New London-Waterford Speedbowl -For more information, contact Mike Serluca at

Share this post